Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA)

  • President Barrack Obama signed into law the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) on December 10, 2015. ESSA replaces the previous Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), also known as the No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Act of 2001. Under the ESSA, California is required to implement the same interventions in the 2016–17 school year for schools that were previously identified in the 2015–16 school year; with the exception of the provision of Supplemental Educational Services (SES) and Choice.

    Transition Plan for the 2016–17 School Year

    As allowed by the ESSA, California is developing a new accountability system for the 2017–18 school year. The 2016–17 school year is considered a “transition” year, designed to effect an orderly transition to the new law and accountability system. California has developed a transition plan that describes various alternative supports and services that are to be provided to eligible students.

    Alternative Supports

    During the 2016–17 school year, under the ESSA, California has elected to eliminate the requirement for LEAs to provide SES. Instead, LEAs with identified schools will be required to provide eligible students with alternative supports. Alternative supports are supplemental activities designed to increase the academic achievement of students. Socioeconomically disadvantaged students attending a Title I school are eligible to receive alternative supports for the 2016–17 school year.

    Alvord Unified School District will offer the following alternative supports and services in 2016–17:

    • Literacy Intervention Teachers
    • Expanded Learning Opportunities- After School Intervention through Half-Time
    • Extended Learning Opportunities-Summer Intervention

    Please note that if there are insufficient funds to serve all eligible students, priority will be given to the students in greatest need.


    Under the new law, California has also elected to allow LEAs to determine whether or not to offer Choice to new students. Choice allows students attending Title I schools the option to transfer to an identified school that is within the LEA. This applies only to the following schools: Arlanza, Collett, Foothill, La Granada, Myra Linn, Orrenmaa, Rosemary Kennedy, Stokoe, Terrace, Twinhill, and Valley View.

    Alvord Unified School District elected to provide Choice to new students for the 2016-17 school year. The deadline for applying was July 29, 2016.  Please note:  If you child participated in Choice during the 2015-16 school year, he/she is permitted to remain in that school until they complete the highest grade in that school.